Potato pirates; Forth Update

It is time for the fourth blogpost! Last week, i wrote that we had to redesign the map, the game level because it did not fit our design for the enemies and the avatar plane. They didn’t look like they came from the same world which was a major flaw.  In addition, i explained the problems i encountered and what my goal was with the map. My main goal with the map was to make sure it looked like a landscape, with different levels of terrain.

Thus far, I have spent over 40 hours in total on designing this map and i feel….kinda…done with it. However if i look at it tomorrow, im sure ill find something im not satisfied with.

The map consist of two cities, one large river, a lake, a mountain, some cliffs, forests and more. The trees, cliffs and houses are tiles so it was easy to manage them. And at the same time, we fulfill one of the criterias for the assignment, we have to use tiles.

However, the last few days, I have concentrated on getting the cliffs and mountain to look good. They are, in my opinion, the most important components of the map because they will affect the feeling of level difference the most.

I have never drawn a mountain from a bird view perspective before starting with this map. It was a challenge to say the least,  to make it look good anyway. I failed fast and more times then i care to admit.

My main tool for drawing is photoshop. But this time i actually used a program that’s called Sketchbook and i actually like it better. Even if it does not have nearly as many uses as photoshop, i like the feeling better. Moving on to the the artefacts, I tried, looking  on pictures of mountains but i did not feel like it helped. I was stuck a long time but suddenly i actually made something that looked good. So what do you know, stubbornness issues actually pays off sometime. I realize that i dont go in so much in the technicalities when it comes to drawing. Im not a technical drawer unfortunately and its something i have to work on. I have however a good eye for when something looks good so i rely much on that. So this post doesn’t give you as readers so much valuable information, tips and techniques,  but i hope you enjoyed reading it anyway.

 

Untitled-1.jpg

 

One thought on “Potato pirates; Forth Update

  1. Hello, hello Erik

    As hoped I enjoyed reading this blog post, sure there is a huge lack of information, but I get that it can be hard to write about the same thing more than one time. One thing that bugged me a little was how you mentioned how you had two cities, one large river, a lake, mountains cliffs etc. But you only show a little bit of the map on the picture. So would have been fun and interesting to see more of the world :).

    Secondly, great work on the moutain, despite the many, many fails you mention in the text they now looks awesome. brighter on the top and darker on the bottom, really good work there. I also like the dark “cracks” or what they are, they help to boost the look that this is rock. One thing though, just below the mountain the trees are much, much smaller, how come?

    Another thing I actually liked is that you mentioned and talked about other programs you used, like the sketchbook program. I find it informing and good to know what my classmates are working in. So might actually look into that program.

    tack o hej leverpastej

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment